Beach Walk and the Fantastic Seals

We had our new Leki anti-shock walking poles and were ready for a walk along the beach!

140921-lekipoles

We walked about two miles.  The tide was fully in, so it was quite hard going, walking on the large stones.  The walking poles were absolutely fantastic and helped a great deal. There were a few seals relaxing on the rocks, but we could see many more in the distance!

We gradually got closer and closer.  The seals were curious and didn’t seem bothered by us being there.  A few of them went to go back into the sea, but then decided to stay put!  There was a mix of grey seals and common seals.

I took this group photo and the grey seals seemed happy to pose.  I couldn’t help but wonder if I had seen some of these grey seals when they were pups.  They just seemed so relaxed.

groupseals

Below is an arty shot of one of the grey seals

Grey seal

Below is a common seal.  It seemed really relaxed as well.

seal

Photographing seals is such a rewarding experience.  To be able to be close to wildlife is amazing.  I never get too close though and respect their space.

George took this photograph of me photographing the seals.  I’m wearing my Lowepro Slingshot backpack, which is fantastic for carrying my camera in.  Can also fit my lunch in there too!

140921-tinaseals2

I hope you have enjoyed the blog! :D

 

Leave a Reply

